Recreational Therapy

Photo 2018-10-30, 11 16 18 AM
pos
IMG_1504

We can all use some guidance to improve our quality of life and find optimal physical and mental health through recreation, leisure and socialization opportunities. 

What is Recreational Therapy (RT)?

Recreational Therapy is a process that utilizes functional intervention, education and recreation participation to enable persons with physical, cognitive, emotional and/or social limitations to acquire and/or maintain the skills, knowledge and behaviours that will allow them to enjoy their leisure optimally, function independently with the least amount of assistance and participate as fully as possible in society.

A Recreation Therapist is specially trained in assessment and intervention planning towards goals that are recreation, leisure and/or life skills based for individuals with unique needs.

Recreational Therapists use recreation and leisure based activities to help individuals to:

  • Improve physical and cognitive abilities
  • Increase confidence and self-esteem
  • Strengthen interpersonal skills and relationships
  • Improve coping and adaptation skills
  • Enhance wellbeing
  • Encourage a greater sense of accomplishment
  • Realize the benefits of a healthy leisure lifestyle
  • Foster greater involvement in the community

Recreation Therapy at Hope Haven

Recreational Therapy (RT) at Hope Haven is offered under the umbrella of Equine Assisted Learning (EAL). Our Recreation Therapist (RT) uses EAL as one of their tools or activities when planning an individualized program, however they also are able to pull from other recreation, leisure and life skills based interventions.

All interventions or activities chosen are connected with our equines and their farm environment. For example, if an individual has a goal of increased independence with daily self care including areas of nutrition, hygiene and fitness, interventions could include learning how to care for a horse in these areas then relating them back to their own self care.

Who can register?

To work with our Recreation Therapist, please visit our EAL page to see the options for programs.

 

Need more information?

Please call 519-986-1247 and ask for Robyn, or email program@hopehavencentre.org.

Contact

545747 Sideroad 4A, RR #2
Markdale, ON N0C 1H0

(t) 519-986-1247

Directions

Located on Sideroad 4a between
7th Line and 9th Line.

View Map

Ian Hayes - Executive Director
ihayes@hopehavencentre.org

Robyn Allen - Director of Operations & Physiotherapist
rallen@hopehavencentre.org

Kim Reain - Director of Events & Community Outreach
kreain@hopehavencentre.org

Michelle Lemire - Volunteer Coordinator
volunteer@hopehavencentre.org

Emma Houser - Program Administrator & Instructor (PATH Int. CTRI, EC Instructor of Beginners)
ehouser@hopehavencentre.org

Danielle Caswell - Head Instructor & Equine Manager (PATH Int. CTRI, EC Competition Coach)
drose@hopehavencentre.org

Gillian MacNeill - Instructor (CanTRA CTRII, PATH Int. CTRI)
gmacneill@hopehavencentre.org

Shannon Speer - Recreation Coordinator (RT, EAPDC)
sspeer@hopehavencentre.org

Gretel Stanish - Instructor (Path Int. CTRI, EAPDC)
gstanish@hopehavencentre.org

Alexis Murray - Instructor (EC Instructor of Beginners in training, Path Int. CTRI in training)
amurray@hopehavencentre.org

Dana Van Den Bergh - Instructor (EC Instructor of Beginners in training, Path Int. CTRI in training)
dvandenbergh@hopehavencentre.org

Laikyn West - Property Manager
lwest@hopehavencentre.org